Friday, August 25, 2006

Pluto - No longer a planet

In an interesting move, a large body of astronomers collected under the aegis of IAU (International Astronomers Union) decided to demote the status of Pluto to a dwarf planet, instead of regular planet. It means our solar system has only 8 planets and not 9, as we studied till now.

The declassification seems to have been done in view of a majority's concerns of Pluto being a largely frozen surface and dissimiliar in composition to the other 8 planets, and 3 other bodies in the solar system - Charon 3, a satellite of Pluto, 2003 UB313, and a huge asteroid between Mars and Jupiter qualify to become a planets, if Pluto (with relaxed admission norms) continues to be accepted as a planet.

Lots of rewriting of school textbooks needs to be done, around the world :)

How do you feel, having to lose one interesting planet from our system?


World mourns poor Pluto's plight

Pluto Loses Designation, Sues IAU

Is 8 enough- Reaction mixed to Pluto's demotion

Pluto No Longer Considered a Planet


Deepak said...


2 days back king 5 news reported addition of 3 more planets !!

check this:,2933,208644,00.html

Deepak said...

ofcourse your references are recent :)

Tim Miller said...

There's another significant distinction between Pluto and our eight planets - it has not swept out its orbit around the Sun.

Also, it has a very oblique orbit compared to the remaining eight planets, but I don't know if this was part of their decision.